Navigate

Waters dark and ever knowing
A learned surface ever growing
This tiny ship atop the sea
Without a wheel to steer for me

Each night the stars blink out in morse
But I can’t understand, of course
So while the sails gather the breeze
I itch the pits behind my knees

Yet, in a flicker, there I see
Could that twinkle possibly be
The steering wheel for which I seek
A dictionary of star speak

Dots that like to dash away
Perhaps will want to stay, one day
Make some sense of what’s up top
Deciphering the code and stop

And have a word or two with me
About all the twinkling I see
That makes sense to all the other boats
Along the spines of other coasts

The stars, their blinks, the boats and, me
Together in the world, we three
Chart a course across the page
And speak, in morse, with well earned sage

About corkedbottle

Hello hello. I'm a guy that likes to write and is really good at not writing. I've never thought of myself as a good writer, but it's fun, and I'll never get better if I don't write more!
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

